On the re-opening of SLPP Office … “We would never encourage violence” John Benjamin...

3 Members of Parliament resign

Three Members of Parliament, who were appointed by President Ernest Bai Koroma to serve as ministers, have resigned as parliamentarians.
The three ministers Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay, Transport and Aviation, Minkailu Mansaray, Employment and social security and Alimamy P .Koroma, Trade and Industry, sent in their resignation letters immediately they were approved by parliament.
The Clerk of Parliament, Mohamed Abu Kemokai, told Awoko that it was a rule for MPs appointed as ministers to vacate their seats after their approval.
He also said parliament would have to consult with the political parties and further wait on the political party affected to write the House on the vacancies existed, before informing the National Electoral Commission for  by-elections.
With four of the MPs appointed from parliament to serve as ministers, the fourth Abdul Serry Kamal, made Attorney General and Minister of Justice according to parliamentary sources last Friday had not sent his resignation letter.
Serry Kamal did not go through the appointments committee in parliament for interviews and subsequently for approval, a move supported by the constitution, but went straight ahead to be sworn in at State House by the President.

Leave a Reply